Laura Ingalls Wilder & Little House on the Prairie
Little House Books
Laura Ingalls Wilder's Family & Friends
Materials for Homeschoolers & Teachers
Little House Crafts & Activities
Little House Recipes
Music from the Books
Little House Sites
Researcher's Corner
Little House on the Prairie Television Series
In Depth Sections
Little House Sites
Pepin, Wisconsin
Independence, Kansas
Walnut Grove, Minnesota
Burr Oak, Iowa
De Smet, South Dakota
Vinton, Iowa
Spring Valley, Minnesota
Westville, Florida
Mansfield, Missouri
Malone, New York
Cuba, New York
Keystone, South Dakota

Pomona, California

West Branch, Iowa
Little House Books

Little House in the Big Woods
Farmer Boy
Little House on the Prairie
On the Banks of Plum Creek
By the Shores of Silver Lake
Little Town on the Prairie
These Happy Golden Years
The First Four Years
West From Home
On the Way Home

Little House on the Prairie Television Series
Guest Stars
Complete Episode Guide
Guide to Walnut Grove

The First Four Years
By Laura Ingalls Wilder

The First Four Years is not considered by many to be in the actual series, as it is written in a much different style than the rest of the books. In fact, this book was not published until after Laura's death. It was found among her papers in the same orange school tablets she wrote the other manuscripts in. It is unedited by Laura, and is only divided by the four years - three years and a year of Grace. It highlights those first four years after Laura married Almanzo, which includes the birth of Rose, and many of the hardships that continue to plague the life of Laura as a pioneer.




© 1996-2009 Laura's Prairie House.